You are here

The Orchestra

Violin 1


Warwick Adeney

Prof. Ian Frazer AC & Mrs Caroline Frazer, Cathryn Mittelheuser AM, John Story AO and Georgina Story
Warwick Adeney was born into a large family of violinists and trained at the Queensland Conservatorium alongside three of his siblings. There he learnt with Dr Anthony Doheny, was a member of the Ambrosian Quartet,...
More info

Violin 2



Double Bass


Section Principal Flute

Alexis Kenny

Chair sponsored by Dr Damien Thomson & Dr Glenise Berry
Alexis Kenny is Section Principal Flute with the Queensland Symphony Orchestra and has also performed with Orchestra Victoria and the Australian Opera and Ballet Orchestra, Sydney Symphony Orchestra, Tasmanian Symphony Orchestra, Auckland Philharmonia Orchestra, and...
More info


Section Principal Oboe

Huw Jones

Chair sponsored by Helen and Michael Sinclair



Section Principal Bassoon

Nicole Tait

Chair sponsored in Memory of Margaret Mittelheuser AM

French Horn


Section Principal Trumpet

Sarah Butler

Chair sponsored by Mrs Andrea Kriewaldt
NZ-born Sarah gained a B.Mus at Auckland University before travelling to study in the UK where she gained a Masters with distinction in performance at Trinity College of Music, London. Her tutors were Mark David,...
More info


Section Principal Trombone

Jason Redman

Chair sponsored by Frances and Stephen Maitland OAM RFD


Principal Tuba

Thomas Allely

Chair sponsored by Arthur Waring
Tuba player Thomas Allely hails from Christchurch, New Zealand. Thomas completed his undergraduate degree at Victoria University Wellington, and his postgraduate study in Australia with Steve Rosse of the Sydney Symphony, and also at DePaul...
More info



Principal Timpani

Tim Corkeron

Chair sponsored by Dr Philip Aitken and Dr Susan Urquhart, Peggy Allen Hayes